Skip to main content

What does the view look like for the end-user?

You can preview the extensions by going to the form or portal URL. You can also click Open Extension (portal or interface) / Open Form (form). The same view will also open when clicking on the extension from your base's list of extensions.

To visualize the extension exactly as your end-users will see it, you can switch from Draft to the Published view in the top right corner. This will display the currently published version of the extension, as well as hide all admin-only elements from the screen, except for our chat widget, so you can still ask for help, if needed.

Alternatively, you can use an incognito/private window or a different browser where you haven't logged in to your miniExtensions account.

While you're logged in, you can edit your extension while accessing the form or portal. Just click Edit Extension in the top left corner. This button is not available on the end user's view.

Why do I see gears and borders on my fields?

A gear icon appears next to each field on your form. Clicking it provides a shortcut to that field’s settings. These elements are not visible to end users.

Form

While editing a form, use the preview controls above the form to switch between creating a new record and editing an existing record.

To preview a new record, select the creating-records preview. To preview an existing record, select the editing-records preview, then search for a record by its primary-field value or record ID. If editing existing records is disabled, select the gear icon in the Builder toolbar, enable editing in the form settings, and return to the preview.

To test the shareable form itself, select Share in the Builder toolbar and copy the relevant URL, or select Open Form.

Builder-only indicators are not visible to end users. These include field borders and gear shortcuts, the eye-slash icon used to identify fields with conditional visibility, and the other buttons shown around selected fields.

Error messages

Any technical error messages will only be shown to logged in builders. End users will simply see a generic error message to avoid confusion. Only relevant error messages will be shown to end users, e.g. "form disabled" or "form locked" etc.

Did this answer your question?