It means the field is completely locked and cannot be edited. Users would only be able to see any existing values in the field, but not add/select data. You can set which fields are read-only and which ones are editable so that users only update specific fields (that you choose to make editable). For example, allowing users to upload a file, but not edit any other field data.

Related

Did this answer your question?