Skip to main content

How to disable the form conditionally

I want to prevent the user from accessing the form if they've already submitted it before or a specific date has passed.

You can set conditions on what records are accessible based on certain values in Airtable. For example, ensuring that users can only edit their records once or users can't edit the form when it expires. You can come up with your own rules that will disable the form when these conditions are not met. There are a few options to achieve this, depending on your use case.

You can set a custom message if the conditions are not met.

1. Prevent re-login after user submission

If the login page option is enabled (under How do users access their records? in the Share menu), lock the form so they can't access it again.

  1. Open the Form builder.

  2. Select Share in the toolbar.

  3. Turn on Conditional Login and set the conditions*

*Note: The condition should not be based on a linked record getting created. Follow this link to learn why.

2. Prevent loading the form

In this option, the user won't be able to open the form and it'll be completely blocked.

These options are only available for standalone forms, not child forms (i.e. forms used in a portal or interface or for linked record fields in a main form).

Option A: Only allow updating existing records based on conditions

  1. Open the Form builder.

  2. Select Share in the toolbar.

  3. Turn on Allow users to update existing records toggle

  4. Turn on Only allow users to view existing records if conditions are met toggle

  5. Add Condition(s)

Option B: Lock the form after submission based on conditions

  1. Open the Form builder.

  2. Select Share in the toolbar.

  3. Turn on Allow users to update existing records toggle.

  4. Turn on Lock the form after submission toggle.

  5. Select a checkbox field for Field used for locking

The check box field will be checked after form submission so when the users try to reload the form, it will not be accessible.

💡 Note: This option is unavailable when Allow users to copy submitted record to a new form is enabled.

Option C: Disable the form at a scheduled date

  1. Open the Form builder.

  2. Select Share in the toolbar.

  3. Turn on Disable form at scheduled date toggle

  4. Set a date and time

  5. Optionally, you can edit the message shown to your users once the form is disabled.

💡 Note: you can configure the timezone using the selector on the right side of the date.

Option D: Disable the form after a certain number of submissions

  1. Open the Form builder.

  2. Select Share in the toolbar.

  3. Turn on Disable form after a specific number of submissions toggle

  4. Set the Submission limit

This will only count new records being submitted by the form, not record updates! The limit applies to the total number of records created by the form, not per user.

3. Allow final submission only when conditions are met

For a standalone form, open Share and enable Enable saving records if conditions are met, then add your conditions. For a child form, find the same setting under Disable Form.

These conditions are checked when the user clicks Submit. Users can still click Save & Continue to save a draft. This gives Airtable a chance to calculate any formula results needed by your conditions, without submitting the form.

The submission limit above counts new records. The first Save & Continue save counts if it creates a draft record in Airtable. Saving or submitting that same draft again does not count as another new record.

Did this answer your question?